HomeThe VoiceAbout FOGAHDunaway ScholarshipActivitiesJoinAnnual MeetingGet InvolvedDonateBuyContact

Popular Links


Georgia Archives website, now located at http://georgiaarchives.org/


Georgia Archives, described in The New Georgia Encyclopedia website


Georgia Capitol Museum website

Lunch and Learn


This free monthly series is a great program to help the public and Archives patrons learn more about Georgia’s rich history. Guest speakers cover a variety of topics on the second Friday of each month from Noon to 1:00 p.m. Visitors are welcomed to bring a lunch to eat during the program. Reservations are not necessary. Check the Georgia Archives website for upcoming topics and speakers.

Upcoming lectures include

June 12, 2015: Digging Georgia. Brian Tucker, State Archaeologist, Georgia Department of Natural Resources, Historic Preservation Division

July 10, 2015: Slavery and Freedom in Savannah (GHRAC Award Winner - Excellence in Documenting Georgia's History). Leslie M. Harris, Emory University

August 14, 2105: Genealogical Research. Tricia Sung, Asian Pacific American Historical Society




Ornament 2014 (Capitol Chandlier)


Georgia Capitol Chandelier

When the Georgia Capitol was dedicated July 3, 1889, grand chandeliers—with ninety lights in the House and fifty-four in the Senate—were the focal points in the legislative chambers.  Initially designed as gas fixtures, they were modified to use the newer electric technology during the course of the Capitol construction.  Renovations in the mid-twentieth century removed these fixtures.  The current magnificent chandeliers, which took two and a half years to construct, were installed just in time for the re-dedication of the restored legislative halls in January 2000.

Purchase this year's ornament 




Set of all ornaments 

Set of All Ornaments

 Purchase a set of complete ornaments