HomeThe VoiceAbout FOGAHDunaway ScholarshipActivitiesJoinAnnual MeetingGet InvolvedDonateBuyContact

Popular Links

 

Georgia Archives website, now located at http://georgiaarchives.org/

 

Georgia Archives, described in The New Georgia Encyclopedia website

 

Georgia Capitol Museum website

Lunch and Learn

 

This free monthly series is a great program to help the public and Archives patrons learn more about Georgia’s rich history. Guest speakers cover a variety of topics on the second Friday of each month from Noon to 1:00 p.m. Visitors are welcomed to bring a lunch to eat during the program. Reservations are not necessary. Check the Georgia Archives website for upcoming topics and speakers.

Upcoming lectures include 

14 November 2014: Fooling the People: Tracking Down an Abraham Lincoln Quotation, presented by David B. Parker, Professor of History & Assistant Chair, Dept. of History & Philosophy, Kennesaw State University.

12 December 2014: The Battle of Utoy Creek and Operations at East Point, August 4-7, 1864, presented by Lt. Col. Leonard P. Bennett, Jr., Army Historian, 335th Theater Signal Command.

     

Update from the President

 

Timothy Crimmins (portrait)
There is currently a great challenge and opportunity for the Georgia Archives. With the move of the Archives to the Board of Regents last year and the restoration of funds that will permit the Archives to be open five days a week later this year, new staffers are being hired to provide access to manuscripts and to restart collection and education programs. Not since the aftermath of the Great Depression and World War II, when draconian budget cuts similar to those from 2008 to 2012 decimated the archives staff, has there been the opportunity to rebuild archival programs. The FOGAH board is working with Director Chris Davidson in his effort to restart programs and to bring back the patrons who disappeared when the Archives was threatened with closure.

For the longer historical perspective on the current challenge, FOGAH member and former member of the Archives staff, Jim Overbeck, has been looking into the history of the Archives. One way of thinking about this past is to look at the photographs of four buildings that have housed the state archives that are displayed in the Georgia Archives lobby: the Georgia Capitol, Rhodes Hall on Peachtree Street, the white marble rectangular cuboid (now abandoned) on Capitol Avenue, and the current home of the Georgia Archives in Morrow. When the Capitol opened in 1889, it housed all of state government, including the records of the branches of government and agencies that were located there. The official repository of state records, the Georgia Department of Archives and History, was established by law in 1918. In 1929, the Archives was relocated to from the Capitol to Rhodes Hall on Peachtree Street. However, new quarters did not bring new funding. With the onset of the Great Depression, staff was cut and salaries were reduced. It took the increasing prosperity in the state in the aftermath of World War II and the location of the Archives within the authority of the Secretary of State, the history-loving Ben Fortson, to greatly expand programs and offerings.

The Archives now reports within the Board of Regents to Senior Vice Chancellor Steve W. Wrigley. A Ph.D. in history, Dr. Wrigley is as history loving as Ben Fortson, and he brings to his position experience as Governor Zell Miller’s Executive Assistant and also as Vice President for Government Relations at the University of Georgia. Dr. Wrigley used his governmental experience to help restore funds to the Archives and is now working with the Archives staff to develop a vision for the future. FOGAH applauds this effort and is now working with Director Davidson and Dr. Wrigley to advance this vision into an exciting future for the Archives.
 
-- Timothy J. Crimmins 
 

     

Ornaments

 

Ornament 2014 (Capitol Chandlier)

 

Georgia Capitol Chandelier

When the Georgia Capitol was dedicated July 3, 1889, grand chandeliers—with ninety lights in the House and fifty-four in the Senate—were the focal points in the legislative chambers.  Initially designed as gas fixtures, they were modified to use the newer electric technology during the course of the Capitol construction.  Renovations in the mid-twentieth century removed these fixtures.  The current magnificent chandeliers, which took two and a half years to construct, were installed just in time for the re-dedication of the restored legislative halls in January 2000.

Purchase this year's ornament 

 

 

   

Set of all ornaments 

Set of All Ornaments

 Purchase a set of complete ornaments